London (change)
Today 7°C / 2°C
Tomorrow 8°C / 7°C
17 messages
14/05/2014 at 21:26

Could anyone tell me how to get Begonia Tubers started other than using Dynamite.I know i'm a little late.

14/05/2014 at 21:59
Hi Graham, I have grown Begonias for corms (that is what they are not tubers - I'm not being pedantic but no doubt someone would correct you, as they did me when I posted exactly the same as you ) for the first time this year, there is a thread I started somewhere on here. I planted them with the concave part facing upwards just below the soil, literally with only a small covering, then left them in my GH. They did take a while to start shooting leaves, but it was colder than it is now so they may come up quicker.

Mine are ready to pot on now and when I work out which are the hanging basket ones and which are the border ones (I muddled them up!) I will put them in pots.

I hope this helps a bit, I'm new to all this too and no doubt someone will be along soon to give more advice
14/05/2014 at 22:02

I soak them in warm water for 10 mins (use your own intuition - if it looks dry, then soak it). I then place in a pot, cover with compost so that the top is just under the soil, soak with warm water and leave somewhere warm and light place (windowsill, GH etc). Should see growth quite quickly.

14/05/2014 at 22:02

Snap Orchid Lady!

14/05/2014 at 22:04
I beat you Blairs.....I can't actually believe I now have enough knowledge to give a bit of advice
14/05/2014 at 22:15

Thanks Orchid Lady,I stand corrected.I'm fairly new to this game,I did'nt know there was a difference between a corm and a tuber.I thought it was another name.I did try what you said earlier in the spring but nothing happened,then after a few weeks i took them out[That's me,No patience]I'll try again.Is it too late now?

14/05/2014 at 22:23