Forum home Talkback
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Talkback: A new allotment

Hi Kate well done iv had an allotment for nine years its a place where I go to loose myself and find myself at the same time its real spiritual

• Slightly connected to this, so apologies in advance.

I am trying to encourage the allotment tenants to cater for wildlife. I am not an expert so I googled wildlife audit and came across your blog from 2011. I thought I'd use your wildlife audit that was mentioned in the blog from Nov 2011 GW magazine, which I don't have. How can I get hold of a copy of the audit questionnaire please? I think it would be a good start and we can build in more detail later, as we build up the basics first.
  • happymarionhappymarion Posts: 4,591
    Oh, I am so happy for you, Kate. A heated propagator will get your veg plants started off and ready for your new plotThe el nino effect may just bring us a hot summer. I do hope you are near the water supply. In no time at all you will have your very own robin perching on your fork and slow worms in your compost bin.

• Thanks for your messsages. I'm so excited. Thanks Happymarion I am very near a water source but I don't yet have a watering can on site! The heated propagator was fired up about three weeks ago...

greenbeanpickle Look out for a direct message regarding your query.

Kate
  • Zoomer44Zoomer44 Posts: 3,267

Looks like you've made a good start too.

I got a new allotment at the beginning of February. Been down each weekend. It's surprising what can be done in a few hours.

Happy growingimage

• 12 months really is a short space of time isn't it but as you say it's better than nothing and beggars can't be choosers!

You should be counting your lucky stars you don't have perennial weeds, I'm completely plagued by them on the derelict plot I was given.