London (change)
Today 13°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 14°C
14 messages
30/12/2007 at 12:45
I have the same problem, fruit flies by the hundreds, is there anything I can do?
31/12/2007 at 14:55
I once read that the addition of shredded newspaper stopped this happening. Worth a try.
02/01/2008 at 09:21
Reply to Sheila - Although I'm no compost expert, I think the problem is too little 'brown' matter. That is, too much kitchen waste and not enough garden stuff. The flies are attracted by the aromatics of fruit and veg fermentation so more dead leaves, corrugated paper and prunings may help dilute the fruitiness of the decay.
03/01/2008 at 18:51
Hi,I too last looked at a drosophila many decades ago, whilst studying A-level genetics at school! I remember grouping them by wing size, spots or no spots, colour etc. The poor things had 2 weeks of frenzied breeding and eating, only to be unceremoniously chucked out into the garden when we had stared at their offspring!!

I now run a gardening club at a secondary school, where the compost heap in the school garden is rotting away merrily. Whilst developing our wildlife education, we have discovered a simple way to deal with the flying visitors... we have put up a bat nesting box on a nearby wall, and our little fellas eat anything that moves. We have a pile of logs for our local hedgehog, who along with all the frogs who also live in the compost heap, help to keep our slugs on their toes (metaphorically!!) So...... maybe an answer to your chianti floaters might be getting a little help from the other widife. Good luck.

29/01/2008 at 17:04
Having the compost crawling with fruit fly maggots brings other insect wildlife with it too. There are lots of predators, mainly beetles (adults and larvae, that feed on the Drosophila grubs. My favourites are the histerids, small (4-10mm) shiny black critters slightly flattened broad rounded globular with thick digging legs to pull through the slimy mess.
14/06/2008 at 17:48