London (change)
Today 22°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 22°C / 16°C
1 to 20 of 21 messages
16/04/2009 at 19:37
Hi. Apologies if this is the wrong place for questions... I am a gardening novice, and have experimentally sown Aquilegia, cornflower, poppy and Nigella seeds in my flowerbed. How, erm, do I know what are weeds, and what are my actual plants?? It seems to be the same seedlings coming up (or do ALL seedlings start with just two small leaves??). Sorry if it sounds a silly question. (Feel abit intimidated being on the Gardeners World website!)
16/04/2009 at 20:29
Hi Lizzie, Just have patience and wait and see what comes up. If it is a wild patch of garden then a few weeds shouldn't make all that much difference.But in a while they will all show their true colours and you can pick out what you don't want there. good luck.
16/04/2009 at 20:44
I know it's a little unusual, but I think that sometimes, dandelions can be really beautiful. Where we live, there's a field just behind our house that's full of the things, so trying to get rid of them is a futil exercise, and they make the lawn so pretty.. not so keen on them in the beds though!
16/04/2009 at 20:52
I bought 2 bags of Miracle Gro organic peat free compost to plant my vegetable seeds in. The firt bag grew seeds brilliantly the second also greww goos little plants BUT they are surrounded by tiny fungi why is this and is it alright to use the plants in the affected pots? Will they spore and infect everything else they ar on my kitchen window sill at present.
17/04/2009 at 09:27
The weeds I pull out in the Botanic garden are pounced upon by my colleague - an American lady. She finds a lot of them quite beautiful and takes them to her allotment to cultivate. This has me searching my wildflower book for their names as she likes our common names as well. I agree,Pippa,familiarity does breed contempt and we should treasure what we have. Luckily for us we have a new wildflower meadow to look forward to in the Garden.