London (change)
Today 13°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 12°C / 9°C
13 messages
28/05/2013 at 00:15

I am looking to plant a couple of wisteria plants in order to train up the front of my house which is a north-northeast facing wall. I think a wire trellis would be the most suitable one since it is fine and difficult to see. My intention is to train the trellis so that it creates a 2 metre tall stem/trunk and then start branching and spreading from the top of the ground floor window - upwards.

I am not experienced in building a trellis and although I have read/heard about various materials needed such as yurnbuckle, vine eye and galvanised wire, I haven't got a clue how to start building it and where each part goes. Can anyone help with advise please? An idiots guide would be appropriate in my case.

28/05/2013 at 13:20

Horizontal wires will be enough, you don't need trellis as such.  Does this help?:

http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_4478374_train-climber-wire.html

Come back with any questions you may have.

28/05/2013 at 14:02

I'm Sorry to pore cold water on your idea,but positioning your wisteria North to Northeast is the worst positioning that you could place it in. Wisteria needs as much  sunlight and heat as possible, it will not flower very well either. Please look up planting advise before you continue with your venture.

28/05/2013 at 19:44

Bob that link provides sound advice however it doesnt mention anything regarding turnbuckle. Does that mean it is not neccessarily required?

Terry: I was also a bit doubtful regarding planting it on a North facing wall however there seem to be a few threads on the net where people say that it will grow albeit slower than when planted on a South or west facing wall. So I thought it may be worth a try.

28/05/2013 at 20:13