London (change)
Today 27°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 24°C / 16°C
16 messages
26/11/2012 at 21:34

Hi, quick question, appreciate your thoughts please, I've been offered  a 6 foot x 4 foot greenhouse at a very reasonable price, I have the perfect spot for it, sun pretty much most of the day and very little work to do to sort out the base area. What's concerning me is would this be a practical size to use, I'm mainly thinking of raising annuals from seed and growing tomatoes in the summer. I appreciate that anything is better than nothing and I have limited experience of using a greenhouse. I'm worried that I will need more space and will regret not saving for something larger. Anyone been there and can offer some practical advice.

26/11/2012 at 22:35

Depends how reasonable the price is.

I have a 6 by 8 GH and it came free. There really isn't room in my garden for anything larger but in the spring I also need a 4 shelved plastic GH to fit in everything I want to grow.

I started off growing toms but this year grew chillies, peppers, toms, cues and aubergines along with veg started off in modules and have now moved onto flowers. I've only had the GH 3yrs   If you already think it's too small chances are it is.

26/11/2012 at 22:38

I ran a 6x8 for years but that was a bit small. You've got to leave room for you to get in there as well, cutting down bench area even more. I suppose it depends on how many trays/plugs of annuals you're thinking of raising and whether they'll be out in the garden before the tomatoes are taking up too much room. Can you work out how much area your annuals will take up?, How many seed trays in square footage and whether they'll fit into the space you'll have.

27/11/2012 at 09:57

Norm2, they are never big enough, mine have increased in size each time I moved.