Forum home Tools and techniques
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Help for student designer

I am a Product Design Engineering student at Glasgow University, for my final year project i am looking in the gardening market and the tools used by various demographics. I am looking to gain insights into the sort of problems experienced when using such products as lawn mowers, strimmers, hedge cutters etc. 

For example, an elderly user struggling with the weighty products, or a user in a flat struggling to store the equipment used to maintain small gardens.

I would be interested to hear about any problems you may have and general any improvements/ideas you'd like to see in future products.

Thanks for your time any response would be greatly appreciated.

• Miss BecksMiss Becks Posts: 3,468

I'm not sure if this counts, but I always have trouble with cord lengths for mowers and strimmers. They just don't seem to take into consideration the length of gardens.

I have 2 mowers (a roller and hover), and a lightweight strimmer. And have to use an extension lead for all of them to reach the far end of the gardens, and mine are not that big to be honest. The strimmer cord is ridiculous. It doesn't even reach the end of my patio, let alone touch anything strimmable (Is that a word? image). I had to purchase an extra 5 metre extension for that one.

Although it's not a huge problem, and the descriptions in catalogues/websites normally state the cord length, it's still a pain for me. image

Not sure if that helps.

Becks.

• Garden(and domestic) tools seem to meto be designed and developed for male hands. you know the bars you have to hold together to make the mower drive. the lever you have to hold in on the scarifier, the pull chords to make petrol tools start. I am not a very small person, but they beat me.

• Gary HobsonGary Hobson Posts: 1,892