London (change)
Today 22°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 13°C
5 messages
18/08/2013 at 17:54

Hi All,

I have built a planter, triangular in shape 2ft x 2ft x 3ft with trellis 2m high on two of the sides.  What I am looking for is an evergreen cliber that will grow dense enough for nesting birds. I am not particularly bothered about what it may look like, the primary function is to serve wildlife.

I am VERY new to gradening and only just finding my feet so any advise at all would be most welcome.

Thank you for reading!

18/08/2013 at 18:57

Hi Paul. Not too sure how readily birds will nest in a planter but if it's suitable and in a sheltered spot I don't see why not! You could try straightforward Ivies- easy to obtain from GCs, nurseries and DIY stores. There are plenty to choose from but some of the small leaved ones are better for ground cover or small containers as they don't grow very big.There are evergreen honeysuckles as well such as Lonicera Henryi but anything in containers needs a little more input in the way of nutrition and water than when planted in the ground so you'll have to make sure you can give them that. Drainage is important too so make sure you have holes in the bottom for excess water to get away. Another plant you may want to try is Pyracantha which is a shrub rather than a climber but can be used as one. They're prickly but have small flowers in the early summer which attract bees and hoverflies followed by berries in the autumn which birds will love. That might be useful to get the birds coming in to begin with. They have different colours of berry - red, orange or yellow- flowers are all the same - creamy white. Easy to obtain anywhere. All these will do well in most positions- a little shade will suit all of them rather than full sun.  

Hope that gives you a start anyway. 

18/08/2013 at 20:23

Ivy.

18/08/2013 at 21:28